I Am Fearful

Published November 11, 2016 by wackybrittany

I wasn’t going to share any political stuff here, but something one of my friends wrote on his Facebook just hit home for me. I feel like I want to share it. He said I could. I will probably get hate from this, but I will probably also get some love. Let’s just see how this goes.
Seth McFarlane summed up this election in a brief and poignant way: “Some didn’t like Bush. Some didn’t like Obama. But this is different. Forget dislike. Many are genuinely fearful now. This is new.”

As a white, cisgender, heterosexual male with U.S. citizenship, my privileges give me no reason to fear. However, I am fearful. 

I’m fearful for the message this election sends to women and girls when the country elects someone who openly brags about sexually assaulting women without their permission, goes into girl’s dressing rooms, rates women on their looks, denies them access to healthcare, etc.

I’m fearful for the message this election sends to young men when the country elects someone who treats women the way he does.

I’m fearful for the message this election sends to people of color when the country elects someone who has the endorsement and support of the KKK, openly calls out people he sees as “My (insert plural form of race here),” etc.

I’m fearful for the message this election sends to the LGBT+ community when the country elects someone who will try to “cure” them through conversion therapy, and more.

I’m fearful for the message this election sends to immigrants, both with and without citizenship, when the country elects someone who wants to build walls to keep others out.

I’m fearful for the message this sends to Muslims (and other communities of faith who may be next) when the country elects someone who wants to pull a page from Hitler’s playbook by creating a national registry for Muslims and ban them from entering the country.

I’m fearful, but not nearly as fearful as women, people of color, the LGBT+ community, immigrants, Muslims, and countless others are, and have the right to be.

Now, please excuse me while I comfort those who America has hurt by legitimizing this fearmongerer by giving him the most powerful position in the world.

Leave a Reply

